Planning Day — 15 September 2012

16 Sep

I’ll be feeding two 20-something males for a special supper this week, so I have finally hauled a 5 kilo/11 ½ pound turkey out of my freezer. Canadian Thanksgiving is just three weeks away, but I love to have the chance to have turkey for meals, for soup and for sandwiches in my own home. As a single woman, most of my holiday meals are spent at someone else’s home — luckily for me, with family. But I do miss the chance to have ‘a bird of my own’.

If a whole turkey seems an extreme way for you to start your Savvy Single Suppers experience, you might choose to start with just a breast of turkey for your ‘special’ meal this week. There are plenty of recipes on-line on how to cook a single turkey breast, and they usually entail a sauce or a ‘wrap’ for the breast (like prosciuto) to keep it moist during roasting.

In reality, cooking a whole turkey is pretty darn easy and it makes for a great excuse to invite a number of folks to your home to share a sit-down dinner. Lull them into a sated stupour and raise the subject of communal cooking for a baking fest or a big-batch marathon.

Here’s what I am planning for this week’s Savvy Single Supper menus:

1.    Roast turkey with stuffing, mashed potatoes & gravy, cranberry sauce, carrots and green beans and possibly a cabbage  salad [2 meals, plus]

2.    Cheater Moussaka, with lemon Brussel Sprouts [2 meals], The Student Cookbook (pg. 105)

3.    Home-made personal-sized Pizza on Honey Whole-Wheat Food Processor Pizza Dough topped with prosciuto, coffee mushrooms, roast peppers, cherry tomatoes & Mozzarella  [I meal] with a market mixed greens salad.

4.    Turkey Noodle Soup & homemade bread. [I meal + servings for the freezer]

On the Sweet Side . . .

My guess is the lads will look for dessert after our turkey dinner. I’m leaning toward making Blueberry Cornmeal Cake with Toasted Nut Topping, from the Dishing up Maine cookbook (pg 251). I think this would be a nice light dessert after the heaviness of a full turkey dinner and leftover servings would freeze nicely in individual portions. But I might be dreaming about cake left overs!

I’m tempted to go the more traditional route and offer a pumpkin pie. Not yet having mastered the art of pie dough, I’d buy a frozen, ready-made crust. A Taste of Canada offers an interesting twist with their Coconut Pumpkin Pie (pg 228). But left-over pie slices don’t freeze all that well for future enjoyment. If I were having six around the dinner table, I’d go with the pie.

Leave a Reply

