Planning Day — 23 September 2012

23 Sep

I am still working on the second helpings from last week’s menu (due to my dance with a nasty little virus), but have planned — perhaps foolishly — a full menu for the coming week. I’ve been collecting a little stash of interesting recipes I’ve been wanting to try for awhile to see if they are keepers or not.

Gourds in all their Glory

While walking the dog this evening I saw my first flaming red leaf . . . on the ground. Ack! The first full day of autumn graced Ottawa with sunny skies and chilly breezes and I could no longer ignore the lure of the gourds. So a pepper squash made its way into my grocery bag along with some colourful peppers that just never seem to stop growing this year.

There was a time when pork was one of my favourite meats. But ever since the pigs have been grown so lean, I dread the look of a pork chop. This could explain why pork remains a relatively inexpensive meat choice. Recently I spied an interesting recipe in the Ottawa Citizen that has pork loin chops as its base, incorporating red peppers, pesto and some vegetable juice. I already have a batch of homemade pesto in my freezer (ice-cube sized portions for ease of use) and part of a bottle of veggie juice from having made gazpacho a couple of weeks ago.

So I am including Pesto Pork Chops a recipe from Ontario Pork. http://www.ontariopork.on.ca/recipes/RecipeView/tabid/575/ArticleId/732/Pesto-Pork-Chops.aspx

Pick a peck of peppers?

A back-to-school recipe (printed in the Montreal Gazette) for Salsa with Shrimp and Black Beans intrigued me, but I came away from the market without the required cucumber for this dish. If you have trouble being inspired for lunch meals, check out the new cookbook in which this recipe appears. With a nip in the air, I am thinking of adapting the recipe to a hot dish for a supper meal, perhaps taking inspiration from a Canadian Living Recipe, Black Bean Rice Bowl (Source: October 2012 issue, page 202).

I plan to make a Pizza one evening, perhaps using some goat cheese and based on my recipe for Honey Whole Wheat Food Processor Pizza Dough. Will need to remember to take the dough out of the freezer the night before or early in the morning!

And with last week’s roast turkey packets in the freezer, I may get a jump on the usual Thanksgiving left-over dishes and try my hand at Turkey, Sage and Squash Pot Pie (Source: Canadian Living Magazine, October 2012, page 152). My veggie bin already contains the celery the recipe requires and I picked up a tub of baby spinach today. The topping for the pie is made using half a box of frozen rolled butter puff pastry, which I also have on hand.

Looking ahead to (Canadian) Thanksgiving

On the Sweet Savvy side, I am eyeing a recipe for Pear Frangipan Tart to showcase the juicy Ontario pears available at this time of year. It may be a little challenging for me, requiring a quiet afternoon to pull it off. If I have company for dinner soon, this may be our dessert! In the meantime, I’ll return to my Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe (which my youngest sister pulls off beautifully) and see if I can get any closer to their perfection!

What are you planning to eat this week? Would you share with all of us?

2 Responses to “Planning Day — 23 September 2012”

  1. crazytraintotinkytown September 24, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    I’m pants in the kitchen so I just drool over everyone else’s recipes and photos

    • Susan at Savvy Single Suppers September 24, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      Hope I can change your mind over here at Savvy Suppers, CT! Give the recipes a go and I’ll be here to make help you out! I think the black bean/shrimp dish would be an easy start for you this week! In the meantime, go find yourself a kitchen timer!

Leave a Reply

