Planning Day — November 4, 2012

5 Nov

Sweet and Hot Peppers

It’s my turn to provide the light soup supper before a weekly meeting Tuesday, so I will be making a stock pot full of soup. My strategy is always to make much more than I need for the group so some of the soup will find its way into my freezer. Savvy single cooks aim for individual serving-sized bowls of soup in their freezers to take to work for lunch or to have as a simple supper after a late day at work or before rushing out to an evening class.

Cabbage Roll Soup

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts are a good price again this week. I’m excited to make either a soup or a salad from some left-over roasted beets and I have a honking big cabbage from last week’s trip to the market. There are also a few handfuls of cauliflower and broccoli florets holding their own in my veggie crisper, as well as several colourful sweet peppers.

 

 

 

 
This week’s menus will try to work with these elements. Here’s what I’m planning:

 
Chicken Chili (Canadian Living recipe)

[2 servings this week + some for the freezer]

Shrimp Stirfry with broccoli, cauliflower and sugar snap peas

[2 servings this week]

Cabbage Roll ( Holubtsi) Soup [8 servings +]

Roasted Beet Soup (with garlic +/ or goat cheese) or Salad with Goat Cheese and Toasted Walnuts [2 servings]

Roasting Beets

On the horizon, I’m planning a dinner party . . .  a menu worthy of recording in Savvy Celebrates section of the blog.
If you are keen to try either the beet soup or salad with me . . . I will also post a quick note today on how to roast beets so you’ll be ready to follow along with my new recipe experiments.

What’s planned in your kitchen this week?

Leave a Reply

