Late November News: Been cooking, just not posting!

30 Nov

It’s shocking to realize I haven’t posted anything for 10 days. Certainly things have come out of my kitchen during these last days of November . . . so I will try to get up caught up writing about those creations. In the coming weeks, I’ll try to feature a few ‘big pot’ dishes that freeze and reheat well. That way we’ll hopefully avoid take-out meals and poor nutrition as the crazy Yule season descends in a whirl of shopping, decorating and parties.

Here’s a review of what’s been cooking at Savvy Single Suppers. I’d planned these meals around meat sales, root vegetables and a few odds and sods cluttering up my fridge.  Sounds boring, doesn’t it?  Well it doesn’t have to be that way. I scoured a few cook books, the web and flipped through my ideas folder and used several recipes as a jumping-off point to inspire these dishes:

Coconut Rum & Maple Roast Pork Tenderloin

Coconut Rum & Maple Roast Pork Tenderloin

1.    Chef Michael Smith has a Molasses-Spiced Rum recipe for Grilled Pork Tenderloin. Tenderloin is on sale but my grill has been stowed away. Hardier Canadians than me grill in all seasons, but a lot of them have covered porches or sheds and testosterone-fuelled sous-chefs. My tenderloin would be cooked in the oven. I concocted my marinade from Maple Syrup and Coconut Rum Liqueur.

Roasted Beet and Garlic Soup

Roasted Beet and
Garlic Soup

2.    The Maple-Coconut Rum Pork Tenderloin was served with roasted beets, Sweet Potato Oven Fries and Brussel Sprouts. The left-over beets will be turned into a Roasted Beet-Garlic-Goat Cheese soup. A third portion of pork will be used for sandwiches.

 

 

Savoury MarinatedFlank Steak

Savoury Marinated
Flank Steak

3.    The butcher shop at Farm Boy had flank steak on sale this week, and I was able to find one small enough for 2+servings (~ 333g). A thin, muscular cut of beef, flank (or skirt) steak is best marinated well in advance and cooked quickly to a maximum of medium. I adapted a very simple “Savoury” marinade by using Oloroso sherry, soya sauce and garlic.

Double Chocolate, Raspberry & Zucchini Cake

Double Chocolate, Raspberry & Zucchini Cake

 

4.    I also had a half pint of raspberries, some left-over buttermilk and a hankering for chocolate cake. After some surfing, I found Jeanne Beker’s recipe for “Sex in a Bowl” (a chocolate trifle-type dessert) printed in Chatelaine magazine. I tried to combine the tastes of the dessert in a simple 9″ square cake pan.

'You won't be single for long' Vodka Rose Sauce

‘You won’t be single for long’ Vodka Rose Sauce

5.    It’s been awhile since I craved some pasta. I blame it on the dropping mercury here in our northern Capital. I’d splurged on some smoked salmon recently and thought a vodka sauce would be a nice way to use it up in a pasta dish. I also had a bit of whipping cream left over . . . so I went with a Vodka Rosé Sauce. This is dead easy to make and sophisticated, and a tad sweet, in its taste.

Stay tuned for the recipes and step-by-step instructions.

 

Leave a Reply

