Survived the 2012 holidays!

12 Jan

Hello all and Happy New Year!

I survived the preparations, parties and travel for Christmas. But barely. I don’t know about you, but I do far less than I used to do (decorating, party-giving, card-sending) to celebrate Christmas. And somehow, it’s just as much fun and just as enjoyable. And I don’t end up exhausted, sick and out of commission for several weeks.

One of the ways that happens for me, is by using up all the extra servings of meals I have tucked away in my small chest freezer over the preceding year. December has become my recycled dinners month. All I need to do is stay on top of having fresh veggies, salad makings and some fruit on hand.

Extra Grainy Porridge Bread

Extra Grainy Porridge Bread

This was also a necessity, since I needed the freezer space to ‘hold’ some Savvy Single Kitchen home-made Christmas presents and potluck party contributions — savoury loaves of grainy porridge bread and cinnamon raisin bread, sweet loaves of Maraschino cherry and Spicy Apple Gingerbread, granola and  ice cream terrines (Chocolate Candy Cane-Dulce de Leche and Mango-Dulce de Leche-Nutmeg-Caradmom-Coconut).

So while the Savvy Single Supper blog has been silent, the kitchen was busy creating all sorts of treats for others. Then there was Christmas week with the family in which I had little responsibility for meal decisions except to chop this or that, set the table and do some dishes.

Happy to report that my regular routines have roused themselves. Yesterday I planned meals for the coming week and we shall be off to the races again at Savvy Single Suppers. Frozen, pre-cooked meals are a godsend when times are busy, but even home-made ones lose their enjoyment after a while. I am keen to start eating fresh, hot and delicious suppers again. Hope you are ready to rejoin the journey.

Here are a few of the suppers I will be reporting in the week ahead:

*   Spinach, Tomato Rotini with Goat Cheese

*   Saucy Shiraz Shepherds’s Pie (A Chatelaine, February 2012 magazine recipe)

*   Deluxe Roasted Beef Tenderloin (A New Year’s splurge + extra meals)

Deluxe Roasted Beef Tenderloin

Deluxe Roasted Beef Tenderloin

So sharpen your knives (I received a great sharpening steel for Christmas), refresh the battery in your digital, instant-read meat thermometer and stock your larder. Lay in a few bottles of hearty red wine and prepare to feed yourself for health and enjoyment.

Salut!

Leave a Reply

