What’s Cooking? — Week beginning January 19, 2013

20 Jan

It’s snowing like the devil. In the past 24 hours, we’ve had 5 inches of snow, a thaw, rain, high winds with an ice-up and now snow is blowing — again. The clouds are low and steely grey. Even if I was a winter outdoorswoman, I’m not certain what sport’s suited to this weather. Besides, most Ottawa folks are too busy shovelling and salting walks and driveways to take up the skates or skis.

Ottawa - January 20, 2012

Ottawa – January 20, 2012

For those Canadians without a fireplace (and a fresh bottle of single malt Scotch) we turn to our stoves and ovens for comfort and warmth (and joy). For those of us who must eke out our income to last the month, January is a special challenge. With a couple of my favourite magazines for inspiration, an inventory of my cupboard and freezer contents for ingredients, here’s what I have selected for suppers this week.

Tuna Fish Casserole with Carrot, Celery, Sunflower Seed, Raisin salad
(the casserole is my Mom’s recipe, with slight adjustments)

Spicy Sausage Cornbread Cobbler served with baked squash (Canadian Living magazine, February 2013 issue, page 120)

Chicken Provencal served with egg noodles and steamed broccoli (I’m going to start with an Aylmer Tomato recipe as a base, but check out a few other recipes, like Ina Gartner’s, for some adaptations).

For Dessert I’m fixated on having an Apple Crisp, perhaps with some blueberries or cranberries (or both) mixed in for some variety. And I’m still eating the Slow Cooker Ambrosial Rice Pudding which I promise to post in the coming days.

I’m off now to pick up the few fresh vegetables I need. The wind is gusting mightily and driving could be a tad challenging with some white-out conditions. Wish me luck.

Later today, I’ll post a quick recipe for Authentic Cree Bannock I made earlier this week for a book club treat.

7 Responses to “What’s Cooking? — Week beginning January 19, 2013”

  1. Debby Simpson January 20, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    That bannock was so good Susan!!

    • Susan at Savvy Single Suppers January 20, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

      Thanks, Debbie. It held up well during the rest of the week, too. A short microwave re-heat and the left-over slices tasted almost as good as they were fresh from the oven. And so easy.

  2. Vicki Delany January 20, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Great blog, Susan. I’ll be back often. I decided today was a good day for a pork roast make with beans. But… I have to soak the beans first, so I guess tomorrow will be a good day. Today, left over hot Italian sausage on pasta.

    • Susan at Savvy Single Suppers January 20, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

      Thanks, Vicki. I don’t have local access to fresh, often heritage variety, vegetables down my laneway like you do in “God’s Country”! Just about to start cooking the Spicy Sausage Cornbread Cobbler. I’m trying to find tasty ways to use the super-food, Kale. I hope this it.
      As a busy-writing-and-promoting-crime-fiction-novels single, I bet you have some great go-to recipes.

      • Debby Simpson January 20, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

        Susan, I made a ham-bone soup today that had kale. It also had carrots (and I added parsnips), black beans, cabbage and celery. I used a leftover smoked maple ham. It was quite good, a whole meal actually.

      • Susan at Savvy Single Suppers January 20, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

        Sounds delish, Deb! I picked up lamb bones at the market today to make a broth was thinking of adding lentils, carrots, garlic & onion.

      • Debby Simpson January 21, 2013 at 12:07 pm #

        Anything that has garlic must be good!

Leave a Reply

