Menu Planning — Week of February 23rd

24 Feb

I thought this week’s cooking was turning into a ho-hum, uninspired set of menus. Boy was I wrong!

I cannot wait to tell you about the meat loaf recipe I created. Every winter I get a hankering for meat loaf. I make some and don’t like it and then have a 7/8ths of  a loaf to throw out. I have found Meat Loaf Nirvana my friends! Adapted from several sources (internet, blogger and friend) I’m calling it Gorgonzola-studded /Caramelized Onion-laced Individual Meat Loaf. I’m serving them with baked potatoes and sautéed Shanghai Bok Choy.

"I Now Love Meat Loaf" Minis

“I Now Love Meat Loaf” Minis

Another recipe from Fine Cooking’s Make It Tonight cookbook made it into this week’s plan. Crispy Catfish Po’ Boys are lightly breaded, quickly fried catfish fillets served on dill pickle slices laid on toasted soft Italian rolls and topped with coleslaw. These will be great with some oven-baked Sweet Potato wedges. Catfish may not be regularly available at your fishmongers (“Doesn’t sell well,” mine admitted), but Your Independent Grocers have them in stock in Ottawa this week. Tilapia would be a suitable substitute.

Crispy Catfish Po'Boys with Oven Baked Sweet Potato Wedges

Crispy Catfish Po’Boys with Oven Baked Sweet Potato Wedges

An unexpected trip out of town last week wiped the Black Bean Quesadillias from cooking contention, so they’re back on the list. I’ve got a ripe avocado ready to peel and some luscious looking cherry tomatoes (for this time of year in Eastern Canada) to top the Quesadillias. I’ll add some steamed spinach to round out that meal.

Before the week’s out I hope to lay my hands on another chicken fryer (Farm Boy has them on sale this week), roast it Greek-style and slather on some Tzatziki sauce.

It’s time to bake another dessert . . . any suggestions out there?

Mango Ice cream with Raspberries and Kiwi

Mango Ice cream with Raspberries and Kiwi

4 Responses to “Menu Planning — Week of February 23rd”

  1. Gillian February 25, 2013 at 6:00 am #

    I want the meatloaf. I want it now.

  2. Debby Simpson February 25, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    My favourite meatloaf type dish is a South African recipe called Bobotie. It’s wonderfully flavourful with chutney, curry and raisins in the mix.

    • Susan at Savvy Single Suppers February 25, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

      That sounds delish, Debby. Do you have a recipe you can share? I’m thinking we could start a meatloaf sahring/contest!

Leave a Reply

