Menus for Week starting 3 March 2013

4 Mar

I believe a good case could be made to crown Ottawa the Shawarma capital of Canada. But try to find a choice of authentic Greek restaurants throughout our neighbourhoods and you start planning a quick trip to Montreal . . . or even Kingston.

One aspect of modern Canadian cuisine is its reliance on influences from successive waves of immigration. Another is the availability of regionally sourced food stuffs. While back in Greece, cooking may involve lots of seafood and fish here, along the shores of the Ottawa River, we’re more likely to have poultry and lamb at hand than shellfish.

Greek-Style Roast Chicken

Greek-Style Roast Chicken

To satisfy my craving for Greek I planned a meal centred on a whole chicken. I prepared Kotopoulo Fournou (Greek-style Roast Chicken) and Spanakorizo (spinach Rice). This is a recipe suited to a weekend, taking a bit of time and preparation but still very easy. You’ll have leftovers for later in the week and for lunches as well.

Metro had a good sale on lamb chops this week, but I’ve put them in the freezer to enjoy later. Top sirloin steak and boneless, skinless chicken breast were also on sale this week.

It’s my turn to feed supper to a group of 6 – 8 this week. In honour of one member’s threshold birthday, I’m preparing Chicken Coconut Curry for that meal along with brown rice and Grandma Nelly’s Chocolate Cupcakes. Have not yet chosen among Mocha Frosting, White Mountain Icing or Whipped Peanut Butter Frosting. Hoping I can come home with a least one left-over meal for later in the week.

One of my go-to recipes is Weeknight Steak with Vegetables which goes very well with mashed potatoes. I generally steer clear of steak in the winter, unless someone is willing to grill it for me. This recipe cooks up in one skillet and is bursting with tangy, tender-crisp vegetables. The 3/4″ thick sirloin steak is best enjoyed when cooked medium-rare (or medium at most).

Ready in about 30 minutes (prep time AND cooking) you can see why it gets its name. My recipe card has no source attribution, but it’s been cut out of a magazine. I think it may have been one from Homemakers magazine.

I hope to try a new dish from Canadian Living magazine [February 2013, page 97] — Sun-Dried Tomato It can be made in 20 minutes, the Test Kitchen claims, but it will probably take me just as long to prepare a big crunchy salad to eat with it.

Keep the recipes or cookbooks or magazines in a special place in the kitchen. When you’re ready to start cooking, no time is wasted hunting down the recipes! Don’t know about you, but I’m counting down the days to spring. I’m clinging to my sanity with the occasional bouquet of tulips.

Come, spring, come!

Come, spring, come!

Leave a Reply

