We’re Back Cooking! Week of May 19, 2013

23 May

Sometimes I have a week or more when I am too busy to write. Rarely am I too busy to cook. Time has taught me I can keep on tackling life’s chores and commitments when I eat properly and well.

Here are my planned menus starting this past Sunday.

Penne with Smoked Fish & Asparagus and Crunchy Carrot Salad

Penne with Smoked Fish & Asparagus and Crunchy Carrot Salad

1.      Penne with Smoked Fish and Asparagus [Canadian Living magazine May 2013] with a Crunchy Carrot Salad [my concoction.]

2.     Herb-Rubbed Roast Chicken with Roasted Tomato Relish, Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Asparagus. [my own recipes]

Herb Rubbed Roast Chicken

Herb Rubbed Roast Chicken

Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Roast Tomato Relish sides

Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Roast Tomato Relish sides

 

3.     Fish Tacos with Mango-Avocado Salsa [Canadian Living magazine, April 2013, page 196]

4.     Homemade Caesar Salad [my recipe] with Roasted Chicken Strips (from left-overs of # 2 above) and Greek Yogurt Caesar Dressing [Canadian Living magazine June 2013, page 156].

5.      Grandma Nellie’s Chocolate + + Cake with Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

.

Grandma Nellie's Chocolate ++ Cake

Grandma Nellie’s Chocolate ++ Cake

 

4 Responses to “We’re Back Cooking! Week of May 19, 2013”

  1. cynniebuns June 2, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

    Oh, I will patiently wait for your chocolate cake. This menu has got me hungry!

    • Susan at Savvy Single Suppers June 2, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

      Thank you for your patience, Cynnie! I have spent the last 2 weeks getting my house shifted around to make room for a recent graduate to live with me for the summer while job hunting. Long, hard and muggy work here in Ottawa the last few days, but this week should see me pick up the writing again. Will go back and report on the recipes I promo-ed. Saving the cake for my 99th post and the icing for the 100th, Cynnie.

      • cynniebuns June 3, 2013 at 1:23 am #

        Good luck on your job hunt, Susan!
        Wow, 100 posts! Congrats, in advance! 🙂

      • Susan at Savvy Single Suppers June 3, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

        Not MY job search (thankfully), Cynnie! A family member who is a recent grad. But it is also gardening season here in Ottawa (we had 6 months of winter/a long cool spring). I’m a cool weather gardener, so the time for me to set up the garden and yard is short indeed!

Leave a Reply

